Friday, January 31, 2014

WIND RIVER Free Today!

From my buddy, James Reasoner, and his wife, L. J. Washburn.  The first in the series.

Stillman's War by Peter Brandvold

My buddy Mean Pete has a new Ben Stillman Western out, the first one in twelve long years.  If you're hankering for six-gun adventure, come get some!

Friday, January 24, 2014

New Novella Out

Sometimes things just work out.  That's what happened here.
Game designer Ross Watson got hold of me through Facebook or email, I can't remember when, and chatted me up about stuff.  Then he mentioned this new RPG tabletop he was putting together with some friends.  The game has a twist that caught my attention, and the striking image you see above.  Monsters are the heroes, and they're fighting back against Witches (yep, capital W) that have savaged the world of Morden.
I loved that picture of the monster above, and a story just screamed inside my head to be let out.  It's about a young man who wakes up 50 years after the Bane War, crawls out of a mass grave, and goes off to see the world.  Along the way he meets Romany, monks who reach out to the Accursed, and a blind girl who is a master martial artist.
Yeah, some of the story comes from the source material, but not Martin the Monster and Galina, Witches' Bane.  They were characters I found when I was flipping through the pages of the beta copy of the game, and I had to tell their story.
This is a 23,000 word novella, so it's a nice length to settle in with.  And, sales and my writing schedule permitting, I'd like to find out what happens with Martin and Galina when they show up in Port Sorrow following the wishes of a dead man who's not quite dead enough.
The novella is available on Kindle, Nook, Kobo, and (soon) ibooks.
Ross and his crew think I did a good job exploring the world and the possibilities, my son enjoyed the read, and I had a great time playing in the Accursed world.

Monday, January 13, 2014

A Kickstarter I'm Backing!

I've worked with Robert Geronimo in the past!  He's a great artist, and this looks like a really cool project.  Get on board.

Saturday, January 11, 2014

Tony Abbott's New Series: The Copernicus Legacy


Bestselling author Tony Abbott's epic new middle-grade series the Copernicus Legacy begins with The Forbidden Stone, a thrilling adventure packed with puzzles, intrigue, and action.

Wade, Lily, Darrell, and Becca fly from Texas to Germany for the funeral of an old family friend. But instead of just paying their respects, they wind up on a dangerous, mind-blowing quest to unlock an ancient, guarded secret that could destroy the fate of the world.

Fans of Rick Riordan and Ridley Pearson will love this first book in an exciting series that takes the reader all over the globe in a race to find pieces of a mysterious hidden past—before it's too late.
Supports the Common Core State Standards.

Friday, January 10, 2014

The Accursed Fiction

The first Accursed novella is out!  Get a taste of this amazing new RPG gaming world.
The Festival at Glenelg is a novella set in the world of Accursed. It tells the story of Erik Nygaard, a bard who also happens to be a Dhampir. When the festival he is attending is joined by a contingent of cauldron-born in service to the Morrigan, Erik must decide if he should flee on his own or attempt to battle the banes and perhaps redeem his soul.
About the setting:
In a world of dark fantasy and perilous adventure, the forces of evil have triumphed. Those who remain uncorrupted by wickedness must rely upon monsters to fight against the darkness. Witches have ruled the land since the last battles of conquest, but their Grand Coven has been sundered, leaving behind remnants of a once-mighty army. The remnants of the horde include captured citizens of the conquered nations that fought as the Witches’ shock troops.
These are the Accursed—the Witchmarks burned into their flesh and souls transformed these men and women into monstrous forms. Now, unable to return to their former lives, the Accursed wander the land, giving aid to those in need in an attempt to atone for past sins. Some have joined the Order of the Penitent, an organization devoted to ridding the world of the Witches and their evil influence. Others offer their skills as warriors, alchemists, and spies to the highest bidder. Yet others have succumbed to corruption, greed, or insanity.
Light has failed, darkness is ascendant—only those bearing the forms of monsters can stand against the tide of the Witches’ evil. The Accursed are this world’s only hope—they must learn to embrace their curse or to fight against it, and find some way to free themselves forever of their Witchmark.

The Accursed core setting book is available on DriveThruRPG in both PDF and Print on Demand.

About the Author
Richard Lee Byers is the author of over thirty fantasy and horror novels, including a number set in the Forgotten Realms universe. A resident of the Tampa Bay area, the setting for many of his horror stories, he spends much of his free time fencing and playing poker. Friend him on Facebook, Follow him on Twitter, and read his blog on Livejournal.

Wednesday, January 08, 2014


This new tabletop RPG is coming soon.  This is one I think Chandler and I could have a blast with.

Players create characters, taking on the role of a classic Western Hero Archetype, such as the Law Man, Gunslinger, or Saloon Girl. Forming an adventuring posse, the Heroes venture down into the dark mines, overrun with all manner of ancient demons and foul creatures from another world. With tactical gameplay, lots of dice, and a robust card-driven exploration system, no two games are ever the same as the Heroes explore the mines finding new enemies to fight, new Loot to collect, and new dangers to overcome. Players can even find portals to other worlds, stepping through to continue their adventures on the other side!

An exciting campaign system allows the Players to visit local frontier towns between adventures, spending their hard-earned Loot and building their characters from game to game! As players find fantastic Gear and Artifacts to equip their Heroes, they also gain experience from their adventures. This experience is used to level up, guiding the Hero’s path through an expansive, class-specific upgrade tree of new skills and abilities, allowing each player to develop their Hero to fit their own play style.

So load up yer’ six shooter, throw on yer’ hat and poncho, and gather the posse, the darkness is coming, and all hell’s about to break loose... in the Shadows of Brimstone!

Tuesday, January 07, 2014


The Vegas Exodus is at a standstill. Besieged by the Xenoswarm in the town Pyrite, they must shelter in either Bunker 108 or Bunker 84 if they are to survive the winter.

But in Bunker 84 lurks a darkness that could end the Exodus. And it may also be that the denizens of Bunker 84, known as "The Community," are not as isolated from the events of the Wasteland as it first appears.

The Community's leader, Elias, has his own plans for the future of the Wasteland - and those plans will change everything.


Monday, January 06, 2014


Baltimore, 2014. Rosie Bratton is a recovering alcoholic. Divorced, working a dead end job, and with a young daughter she only sees on alternate weekends, her life is going nowhere. Her hopes hang on the outcome of a custody battle to regain primary custody of her daughter, and the vague possibility things might get better together. 

 When circumstances turn bleak, Rosie nearly retreats into the bottle, but her sponsor has a solution. Felix was once a mixed martial arts contender. Now, he’s turned his talent toward teaching his skills to others. If Rosie becomes his student, he hopes she can learn how to be a stronger, focused, better person.

 Some people are born to fight – in the cage and out – and Rosie is one of them. When she’s given the moniker Rosie the Ripper, she becomes something more than she was before – and it may be enough to give her a fighting chance….

FREE at Amazon!

First book of the Rancho Diablo series is free Monday through Wednesday.  If you haven't been to the ranch to meet the Blaylock family, cut this one out of the herd and have a look!